ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportMQ Explorer-could not establish a connection to the QM

Post new topicReply to topic Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
MQ Explorer-could not establish a connection to the QM View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Thiru
PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2022 8:47 pm Post subject: MQ Explorer-could not establish a connection to the QM Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 22 Dec 2022
Posts: 21

Hi Experts,

Need your help on below issue.

I have two local queue managers running on windows R12 server and
those are running absolutely fine but after few days of qm restart (monthly failover) sometimes those were automatically disconnecting
from MQ explore and I am not able to view the objects but i can be able to access them from cmd prompt.

I tried to connect again but getting below error. facing the issue in MQ V9.2.2.0 and MQ V9.1.3.0 as well.

**could not establish a connection to the queue manager as a connection is already in progress**



Thanks,
Thiru.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exerk
PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2022 6:07 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 6339

Please be more specific, e.g., state whether the queue managers are part of an MSCS cluster (implied), thank you.

EDIT: I have deleted your duplicate post in the Mainframe, CICS, TXSeries forum...
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hughson
PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2022 5:31 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 09 May 2013
Posts: 1923
Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand

Sounds like MQ Explorer got into a muddle - perhaps just try restarting MQ Explorer to see if it can now connect successfully.
_________________
Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
Get your IBM MQ training here!
MQGem Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Thiru
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2022 12:55 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 22 Dec 2022
Posts: 21

exerk
Please be more specific, e.g., state whether the queue managers are part of an MSCS cluster (implied), thank you.

Yes, the queue managers are part of MSCS cluster.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thiru
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2022 1:02 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 22 Dec 2022
Posts: 21

@Hughson,
Sounds like MQ Explorer got into a muddle - perhaps just try restarting MQ Explorer to see if it can now connect successfully.

I have closed the explore and tried to run the strmqcfg command from cmd prompt but still same.
Is there any other way which will help me out form this situation. Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exerk
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2022 8:37 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 6339

Thiru wrote:
exerk
Please be more specific, e.g., state whether the queue managers are part of an MSCS cluster (implied), thank you.

Yes, the queue managers are part of MSCS cluster.

Is the VIP address for the queue manager (assuming that you are using one) part of the same resource group as the queue manager, i.e., does it fail over with the queue manager resource group?

Have your network people check and see that the assigned VIP is dropping all connections during failover, including any new connection requests.
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hughson
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2022 7:46 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 09 May 2013
Posts: 1923
Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand

Thiru wrote:
I have closed the explore and tried to run the strmqcfg command from cmd prompt but still same.


Interesting. Can you confirm when you say it is still the same, you mean you are still getting the following error that you mentioned earlier?

Thiru wrote:
**could not establish a connection to the queue manager as a connection is already in progress**


Normally MQ Explorer errors have a message number at the beginning. Could you tell us the message number please? Is it for example, AMQ4569W ?

I had hoped that restarting MQ Explorer would mean that the in progress connection would be removed and when you started up again, there wouldn't be one in progress. Is there any chance that you are manually connecting when MQ Explorer has already automatically made the connection?

Is there any chance that MQ Explorer is configured to use the wrong IP address and it is taking a very long to realise that this IP address is no longer there (can take up to 20 minutes for TCP/IP to discover this). If you restart MQ Explorer and then don't touch anything does it eventually tell you it failed to connect?

Cheers,
Morag
_________________
Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
Get your IBM MQ training here!
MQGem Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
bruce2359
PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2023 6:00 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 9425
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

hughson wrote:
If you restart MQ Explorer and then don't touch anything does it eventually tell you it failed to connect?

... or, does it fail quickly/immediately?

Any channel or other errors logged in the local qmgr?

Any channel or other errors logged in the remote qmgr?
_________________
I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thiru
PostPosted: Tue Jan 03, 2023 6:33 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 22 Dec 2022
Posts: 21

Exerk Wrote:

Is the VIP address for the queue manager (assuming that you are using one) part of the same resource group as the queue manager, i.e., does it fail over with the queue manager resource group?

Yes, you are right.

Have your network people check and see that the assigned VIP is dropping all connections during failover, including any new connection requests.

Unfortunately, we don't have direct interaction with Network team.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thiru
PostPosted: Tue Jan 03, 2023 7:05 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 22 Dec 2022
Posts: 21

hughson wrote:
Interesting. Can you confirm when you say it is still the same, you mean you are still getting the following error that you mentioned earlier?[quote]

Thiru
Yes I'm getting the same error.

hughson wrote:
Normally MQ Explorer errors have a message number at the beginning. Could you tell us the message number please? Is it for example, AMQ4569W ?

Thiru
There was no error showing up there, I only see close and details tab. when I click on details tab below the output.

could not establish a connection to the queue manager as a connection is already in progress
Severity:10(Warning)
Explanation: A connection to the specified remote queue manager is already in progress but has not completed
Response: wait until the connection has completed and then try again.

hughson wrote:
I had hoped that restarting MQ Explorer would mean that the in progress connection would be removed and when you started up again, there wouldn't be one in progress. Is there any chance that you are manually connecting when MQ Explorer has already automatically made the connection?

Thiru
The queue managers are automatically connecting to explore every time, we never connected them Manually.

hughson wrote:
Is there any chance that MQ Explorer is configured to use the wrong IP address and it is taking a very long to realise that this IP address is no longer there (can take up to 20 minutes for TCP/IP to discover this). If you restart MQ Explorer and then don't touch anything does it eventually tell you it failed to connect?

Thiru The queue managers are working fine let's say 20 days after a monthly failover but later some point only those are getting disconnected
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thiru
PostPosted: Tue Jan 03, 2023 7:21 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 22 Dec 2022
Posts: 21

Quote:

bruce2359

hughson wrote:
If you restart MQ Explorer and then don't touch anything does it eventually tell you it failed to connect?

Thiru It is connected with Explorer but I'm not able to view the objects and when right on the queue manger and tried with connect getting the error

bruce2359
... or, does it fail quickly/immediately? Immediately

Any channel or other errors logged in the local qmgr? No

Any channel or other errors logged in the remote qmgr? No
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hughson
PostPosted: Wed Jan 04, 2023 12:27 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 09 May 2013
Posts: 1923
Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand

Thiru wrote:
The queue managers are working fine let's say 20 days after a monthly failover but later some point only those are getting disconnected

Your mention of "failover" makes me think of something else. Are these queue manager's configured in MQ Explorer with two different IP addresses? One for the primary location of the queue manager and one for the failed over location? Or do you have a floating IP address?

Could you tell us about the connection configuration details?

Are you able to ping the IP address where the MQ Explorer is trying to connect to?

Cheers,
Morag
_________________
Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
Get your IBM MQ training here!
MQGem Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
bruce2359
PostPosted: Wed Jan 04, 2023 4:32 am Post subject: Re: MQ Explorer-could not establish a connection to the QM Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 9425
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

Thiru wrote:
I have two local queue managers running on windows R12 server

For clarity, does "local" here mean that both qmgrs are in the same o/s instance? Same LPAR?

Thiru wrote:
... and
those are running absolutely fine but after few days of qm restart (monthly failover)

How do you "restart" these qmgrs? What commands are issued?

Thiru wrote:
... sometimes those were automatically disconnecting
from MQ explore and I am not able to view the objects but i can be able to access them from cmd prompt.

Do you mean that you can issue runmqsc cmd, then DISPLAY mqsc command? Or some other cmd prompt commands?
Thiru wrote:
I tried to connect again but getting below error. facing the issue in MQ V9.2.2.0 and MQ V9.1.3.0 as well.
Your original post says that you have two local queue managers ...

I'm confused here. This seems to say that you have this same issue on other queue managers, as well. Please clarify.
_________________
I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thiru
PostPosted: Wed Jan 04, 2023 7:30 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 22 Dec 2022
Posts: 21

hughson wrote:
Quote:
Your mention of "failover" makes me think of something else. Are these queue manager's configured in MQ Explorer with two different IP addresses? One for the primary location of the queue manager and one for the failed over location? Or do you have a floating IP address?

Thiru

Actually, we are running the queue managers on MSCS environment (Role).
we have a cluster IP and two nodes with different IPs (Active and Passive), Active one always pointing to cluster IP. and MQ DATA and LOGS are in shared directory whenever we do a failover the queue managers and Shared directory will also move to second node.

Thiru

Could you tell us about the connection configuration details?
Queue Manager Name: TEST
Connection Type: Local
Refresh Interval: 15 Seconds
Auto Reconnect: Yes
Wait Interval:30
Expiry Interval:30

Are you able to ping the IP address where the MQ Explorer is trying to connect to? Yes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exerk
PostPosted: Wed Jan 04, 2023 7:38 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 6339

Thiru: Is the MQ Explorer instance(s) you are using installed on a machine remote from the queue managers, or do you have an instance of MQ Explorer on each of the MSCS nodes?
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next Page 1 of 4

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportMQ Explorer-could not establish a connection to the QM
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.