ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General Discussion » Altering more than one xmitq at a time

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Altering more than one xmitq at a time « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
mqkrishna2010
PostPosted: Wed May 07, 2014 8:15 am    Post subject: Altering more than one xmitq at a time Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 10 Feb 2014
Posts: 4

Hello,

I need a small information in altering queues.

I have 150 xmitqs in my organization.
I want to change maxmsgl property for all xmitqs as 100MB

Insted of altering each and every xmitq, Is there any way to alter all the xmitqs attribute as 100MB at a time

Kindly help me If any body has any clue about this please guide this
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Wed May 07, 2014 8:33 am    Post subject: Re: Altering more than one xmitq at a time Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

mqkrishna2010 wrote:
Insted of altering each and every xmitq, Is there any way to alter all the xmitqs attribute as 100MB at a time




If you're looking for something like
Code:
 ALTER QLOCAL(*) MAXMSGL(104758674) WHERE USAGE = 'XMITQ'


it doesn't exist.

You can fairly easily write a script to locate all the XMITQs and then update them to avoid you altering 150 queues, but even the script still has to do it one at a time.

Alternatively, if your site has followed best practice and built these 150 queues from scripts in the first place, you can quickly leverage those for your task.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqkrishna2010
PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2014 7:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 10 Feb 2014
Posts: 4

Hi,

I am exactly looking what you guess.

I have tried script also before posting this, but in scripting also we have to mention one alter statement for each and every queue.

This will take very large time.

Thank you for your response
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exerk
PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2014 8:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 6339

mqkrishna2010 wrote:
...I have tried script also before posting this, but in scripting also we have to mention one alter statement for each and every queue.

This will take very large time.

No you don't, that's what loops are for.
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2014 8:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

mqkrishna2010 wrote:
I have tried script also before posting this, but in scripting also we have to mention one alter statement for each and every queue.

This will take very large time.


If you mean "generating a script which has 150 ALTER statements in it" will take a long time, you're right and you're fairly stupid to do it that way. If you want to change them individually, why use script?

If you mean "generating a script which can locate all the XMITQs and produce ALTER statements for them" will take a long time, no it won't.

If you mean "running a script which will locate and alter all the XMITQs" will take a long time, run it over a weekend. And if it takes more than an hour or so to find & change 150 queues, you've coded it wrong.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mr Butcher
PostPosted: Mon May 12, 2014 4:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 23 May 2005
Posts: 1716

MO71 can do that, IIRC

http://www.mqgem.com/mo71.html
_________________
Regards, Butcher
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulClarke
PostPosted: Mon May 12, 2014 6:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 17 Nov 2005
Posts: 1002
Location: New Zealand

Another possibility would be to use MQSCX. Then a task like this becomes truly trivial. MQSCX is like RUNMQSC but has the ability to process the responses directly so to do what you are asking would only require the command....

Code:

* Simple script to create an ALTER QUEUE command for all xmit queues

foreach(DISPLAY QLOCAL(*) WHERE(USAGE EQ XMITQ))
  @name = queue

  print "Altering",@name
  ALTER QLOCAL(<@name>) MAXMSGL(104857600)
endfor


It would almost as simple to write the ALTER QLOCAL commands to a file so you could pipe them through MQSCX/RUNMQSC at a later date.

Cheers,
Paul.
_________________
Paul Clarke
MQGem Software
www.mqgem.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General Discussion » Altering more than one xmitq at a time
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.