ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ Supportchannel status not found

Post new topicReply to topic Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
channel status not found View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
harshatej1
PostPosted: Sun Feb 02, 2014 8:26 am Post subject: channel status not found Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 20 Nov 2013
Posts: 61

I'm running MQ (5.1) on a solaris box(5.1 version.
I start two channels sender(A.TO.B) and receiver(B.TO.A)

when I do a "display chstatus(A.TO.B) I get results showing that the
channel is up. Doing the same for (B.TO.A) gives a message saying
"Channel status not found".

I started sender channel and it started. but when they are trying to start the receiver(mainframe box) channel, they are getting 'terminally executed' error at the mainframe side.



Could you please tell me where exactly is the problem?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Sun Feb 02, 2014 8:52 am Post subject: Re: channel status not found Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 9287
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

harshatej1 wrote:
I'm running MQ (5.1) on a solaris box(5.1 version.
I start two channels sender(A.TO.B) and receiver(B.TO.A)

when I do a "display chstatus(A.TO.B) I get results showing that the
channel is up. Doing the same for (B.TO.A) gives a message saying
"Channel status not found".

I started sender channel and it started. but when they are trying to start the receiver(mainframe box) channel, they are getting 'terminally executed' error at the mainframe side.

Could you please tell me where exactly is the problem?

There is no channel status 'UP'. Do you mean RUNNING?

While I haven't had my hands on a v5.1 MVS instance of MQ, I don't recall an error 'terminally executed'.

Errors detected by WMQ on all platforms include error message numbers and technical narrative. On MVS, errors from MQ take on the form CSQnnnnn, where nnnnn is a number. Exactly what error is in the MVS SYSLOGs from their attempt to start their SENDER channel?

'Channel status not found' would be appropriate for a channel that is not currently active.

In future posts, please provide technical details - like complete error messages copied/pasted from the error logs and SYSLOGs.
_________________
I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
harshatej1
PostPosted: Sun Feb 02, 2014 6:54 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 20 Nov 2013
Posts: 61

Yes, UP means Running.

This is the error in the Main Frame side.

B.TO.A SENDER QMGR MQSA RETRY

+CSQX209E *MQA CSQXRESP Connection unexpectedly terminated, 284
channel B.TO.A,
connection ::ffff:172.26.90.137 (::ffff:172.26.90.137)
(queue manager MQM.XXXX)
TRPTYPE=TCP
+CSQX599E *MQA CSQXRESP Channel B.TO.A ended abnormally
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Sun Feb 02, 2014 11:35 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 9287
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

According to http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infocenter/wmqv7/v7r0/index.jsp?topic=%2Fcom.ibm.mq.csqsao.doc%2Fzm24120_.htm

the entire syntax of the error is:
Quote:
CSQX209E: csect-name Connection unexpectedly terminated, channel channel-name, connection conn-id (queue manager qmgr-name) TRPTYPE=trptype RC=return-code (return-text) reason=reason

Please post the complete error message.

Did you research CSQX209E? What does it tell you to do? Did you do it?
_________________
I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AkankshA
PostPosted: Sun Feb 02, 2014 11:44 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 12 Jan 2006
Posts: 1494
Location: Singapore

This may help

http://www-01.ibm.com/support/docview.wss?uid=swg21164901
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
harshatej1
PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2014 9:07 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 20 Nov 2013
Posts: 61

But the people from application side posted this error message.

I researched and found that this error occurs when get property of transmission queue is disabled.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2014 9:33 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

harshatej1 wrote:
But the people from application side posted this error message.


Application people shouldn't be seeing this message. Or at least shouldn't be looking in the subsystem logs where these are reported.

harshatej1 wrote:
I researched and found that this error occurs when get property of transmission queue is disabled.


Researched where? A psychic hotline? Quote your sources.

If this:
harshatej1 wrote:
connection ::ffff:172.26.90.137 (::ffff:172.26.90.137)


In any way indicates a IPv4 address in an IPv6 format then this will not work in v5.1 and will cause any number of failures, including potentially this.

As has been said many times, WMQv5.1 is out of support and the MF software may be causing it to malfunction if it's not contemporary with WMQv5.1, i.e. as old and out of support.

And if it is, your estate is a disaster waiting to happen.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2014 9:35 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

Or, equally, a more modern IP stack on the distributed side could likewise be causing an issue.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
harshatej1
PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2014 12:25 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 20 Nov 2013
Posts: 61

Application means Main Frame side. I apologize for using 'research' word.

The issuse that i'm facing is

System Admins have copied the entire file system from one server to the other and changed the DNS IP address. Then MF side changed the IP address
on their sender channel.

But the channel is going to retrying status.

A.TO.B RECEIVER QMGR MQSA 2 RUN
B.TO.A SENDER QMGR MQSA RETRY

From the server side(A) listener is running.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2014 12:42 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

harshatej1 wrote:
I apologize for using 'research' word.


Don't apologixe for reasearching; I just wondered where you dug that up so I can refute whoever runs that site!

harshatej1 wrote:
System Admins have copied the entire file system from one server to the other and changed the DNS IP address.


Why did they do that? Why did they think that wasn't going to cause problems? Did they copy the entire file system or just the bits with WMQ on it?

It sounds like you've corrupted your fragile and out-of-support WMQ software with something else in the OS stack. Or in the network, which now takes a different route to this new server and potentially through new hardware, which may be where this IPV6-like address is turning up. Which will confuse WMQv5.1 no end.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exerk
PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2014 12:53 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 6311

harshatej1 wrote:
The issuse that i'm facing is

System Admins have copied the entire file system from one server to the other and changed the DNS IP address. Then MF side changed the IP address
on their sender channel.

But the channel is going to retrying status.

A.TO.B RECEIVER QMGR MQSA 2 RUN
B.TO.A SENDER QMGR MQSA RETRY

From the server side(A) listener is running.

Did the Mainframe MQ Admins reset the SDR channel their side?
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
harshatej1
PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2014 1:18 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 20 Nov 2013
Posts: 61

Yes, they have changed the IP address on the sender side.

Yes, they copied the entire file system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2014 1:29 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

It's network
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
harshatej1
PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2014 1:47 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 20 Nov 2013
Posts: 61

The network people are saying that everything is fine from their side
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2014 2:21 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 9287
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

harshatej1 wrote:
The network people are saying that everything is fine from their side

Of course they did. If I have a nickel for every time...
_________________
I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next Page 1 of 3

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ Supportchannel status not found
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.