ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity

MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups

Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages

RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » Mainframe, CICS, TXSeries » z/os MQ workload balancing query

z/os MQ workload balancing query « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
vishnusram
PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2014 7:31 pm    Post subject: z/os MQ workload balancing query Reply with quote

All,

I am a newbie to this forum and to MQs as well.So terminologies and questions might not be in par.

I have an MQ which is being loaded by real time services.A mainframe job which is scheduled to run for 24 hrs will sweep the MQ and on insert into the DB2 table if any messages comes in.

We want to make sure that when the LPAR over which the MQ manager resides goes down for some reason, we should be able to capture the messages that flows in during the run time.

We thought of going for a mirrored MQ in a different LPAR and run another instance of the same MQ processing mainframe batch job in that LPAR to do the sweeping.

But due to some application specific design we can't afford for round-robin type of load balancing.

I would like to know if the following idea might work,

1)Create a mirrored MQ#2 in a different LPAR as a standby for MQ#1.
2)Set up in such a way that under normal conditions, all the messages should go to MQ#1.
3)When the active MQ manager/LPAR goes down, then all the messages should go to the standby MQ(MQ#2) in the other LPAR and MQ#2 should become/treated as active and MQ#1 should be turned as standby.
4)After some days, if the MQ#2 LPAR goes down then the messages should go to the MQ#1.Thus the active and standby status are swapped.