ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » eXtremeScale on WMB8

Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next
 eXtremeScale on WMB8 « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
scravr
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2012 7:36 am    Post subject: eXtremeScale on WMB8 Reply with quote

Partisan

Joined: 03 Apr 2003
Posts: 388
Location: NY NY USA 10021

Dear Experts,

On broker: Can I dedicate 2 EGs as catalog servers, 2 EGs as Grid Servers, and other EGs to deploy apps flows? That way I can make sure caching EGs will not be affected by running apps.
If this makes sense, how can I make sure caching EGs will be started before apps EGs?


How can I configure EG role on XML policy? How can I name EGs for each server (catalog or Grid)?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
scravr
PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2013 7:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Partisan

Joined: 03 Apr 2003
Posts: 388
Location: NY NY USA 10021

ON WMB8.0.0.1

I am also trying to run a simple POC flow but getting this error:
java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError
com.ibm.websphere.objectgrid.ObjectGridManagerFactory

The flow has a JCN starting with:
import com.ibm.broker.javacompute.MbJavaComputeNode;
import com.ibm.broker.plugin.*;
import com.ibm.websphere.objectgrid.*;
import com.ibm.websphere.objectgrid.ObjectGrid;
import com.ibm.websphere.objectgrid.ObjectGridManagerFactory;
...
...
ObjectGridManager OGMgr = ObjectGridManagerFactory.getObjectGridManager();
ObjectGrid og = null;
og = OGMgr.getObjectGrid("TEST");
if (og == null)
{
og = OGMgr.createObjectGrid("TEST");
og.defineMap("TEST1");
og.initialize();
}
...
...


in java build path I have: objectgrid.jar cachesupport.jar javax.persistence-2.0.0.jar


Can anyone see what I am missing and why i get error on:
ObjectGridManager OGMgr = ObjectGridManagerFactory.getObjectGridManager();

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
mqjeff
PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2013 7:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17447

http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infocenter/wmbhelp/v8r0m0/index.jsp?topic=%2Fcom.ibm.etools.mft.doc%2Fbn23730_.htm

http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infocenter/wmbhelp/v8r0m0/topic/com.ibm.etools.mft.plugin.doc/com/ibm/broker/plugin/MbGlobalMap.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scravr
PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2013 8:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Partisan

Joined: 03 Apr 2003
Posts: 388
Location: NY NY USA 10021

I have configured the broker for default as:
mqsichangebroker mybroker -b default -r 2809-2825


and have this code:
MbGlobalMap.getGlobalMap(CacheName).put(test.Key, test);

but got error on missing grid.

That is way i add the ObjectGridManager code.

Any ideas what is still missing inorder to load ObjectGridManager?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
mqjeff
PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2013 8:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17447

You shouldn't use ObjectGridManager unless you are using the full version of eXtremeScale configured entirely separately from Broker.

If you are *not* using the full version of eXtremeScale entirely separate from broker, you should *only* use the functions and tools supplied *with* broker, without adding any additional jar files or etc.

If you *are* using the full version of eXtremeScale entirely separately from Broker, you should *not* use any of the functions that come with Broker.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scravr
PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2013 8:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Partisan

Joined: 03 Apr 2003
Posts: 388
Location: NY NY USA 10021

Not mixing any thing.

I have removed all additional JARs and all JAVA imports, but I am back to original err:
<com.ibm.broker.plugin.MbRecoverableException class:MbEmbeddedCacheConnection method:MbEmbeddedCacheConnection source:BIPmsgs key:7164 >

on this line:
MbGlobalMap.getGlobalMap(CacheName).put(test.Key, test);



Here is broker config:
the 2nd command shows : Catalog service is unavailable
any ideas way?



C:\Program Files\IBM\MQSI\8.0.0.1>mqsireportproperties WMB8V20121101 -b cachemanager -o CacheManager -r

CacheManager
uuid='CacheManager'
policy='default'
portRange='60000-60021'
listenerHost='172.18.82.201'
shutdownMode='fast'

BIP8071I: Successful command completion.

C:\Program Files\IBM\MQSI\8.0.0.1>
C:\Program Files\IBM\MQSI\8.0.0.1>mqsicacheadmin WMB8V20121101 -c showMapSizes
BIP7187I: Output from the mqsicacheadmin command. The output from the WebSphere eXtreme Scale xscmd utility is '
Starting at: 2013-01-02 11:26:40.696

CWXSI0068I: Executing command: showMapSizes

CWXSI0062E: Catalog service is unavailable at endpoint 172.18.82.201:60000

java.net.ConnectException: Connection refused: connect:host=172.18.82.201,port=60000

Ending at: 2013-01-02 11:26:43.759
'
BIP8071I: Successful command completion.

C:\Program Files\IBM\MQSI\8.0.0.1>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
scravr
PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Partisan

Joined: 03 Apr 2003
Posts: 388
Location: NY NY USA 10021

same error on both "default" and "none" (with exec-group setup) configurations
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
jhart
PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2013 12:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 12 Dec 2012
Posts: 19
Location: IBM Hursley, UK

Hello - It sounds very much like the catalog server(s) have not started. Can you look in your event log / syslog for a BIP7160 message? This is issued when a catalog server fails to start, and contains details of the underlying error.
Thanks and regards,
James
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jhart
PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2013 12:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 12 Dec 2012
Posts: 19
Location: IBM Hursley, UK

On your other questions, I think these should be answered by the following article , which was published just before Christmas:
http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/websphere/library/techarticles/1212_hart/1212_hart.html

In particular the 3rd (final) section of the article talks about cache topology, and how you fix execution group roles within the cache.

James
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scravr
PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2013 7:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Partisan

Joined: 03 Apr 2003
Posts: 388
Location: NY NY USA 10021

Looks like the link page is a summary of info center with some more details.


This error is reported on WIN Event Log when starting broker:
( WMB8V20121101.WXS ) Catalog server ''WMB8V20121101_localhost_60000'' in execution group ''WXS'' failed to start. Further details of the error are : ''Port: 60001''. Check the configured properties for this server. Verify that the ports that are configured for this server are available on this computer.

The WebSphere eXtreme Scale catalog server in this execution group has failed to start. If this catalog server is the only one for the broker global cache, the cache will not be available for use with message processing nodes.


Then every 20secs I see this warning on win event log:
( WMB8V20121101.MosheTest001 ) The WebSphere eXtreme Scale server components in this execution group have not started. The attempt to start the server components has now been running for ''480'' seconds.

An attempt was made to start one or more WebSphere eXtreme Scale server components in this execution group, but the components failed to start within the specified period of time. The attempt to start the server components will continue in the background. Until the server components start successfully, the broker global cache might not be available for use with message processing nodes in one or more execution groups in this broker.

The server components might be slow to start up due to one or more of the following reasons:
1. This system is not capable of starting the server components within the specified time.
2. The configuration for this execution group is incorrect. Check the configured properties for this execution group.
3. Other execution groups containing WebSphere eXtreme Scale server components that communicate with this execution group have not started yet. Ensure that all execution groups are available.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
jhart
PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2013 7:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 12 Dec 2012
Posts: 19
Location: IBM Hursley, UK

Ok - so the detail here is:
'Further details of the error are : ''Port: 60001'''
That port is probably already in use on your machine. You should be able to verify this using something like netstat. I'd suggest choosing a different port range.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
marko.pitkanen
PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2013 8:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chevalier

Joined: 23 Jul 2008
Posts: 440
Location: Jamsa, Finland

Hi,

If I remenber it correctly for example DB2 uses port range from 60000 - by default.


--
Marko
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
scravr
PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2013 8:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Partisan

Joined: 03 Apr 2003
Posts: 388
Location: NY NY USA 10021

Ports allocated to broker are not used by anyother software.

To start all clean: I deleted all EGs, Stop broker, change to disabled, restart broker, created 4 EGs, run test-cache flow and got expected error:
BIP7191:The message flow failed to connect to the broker global cache.
The broker has a cache policy of 'disabled'. All cache components in this broker are unavailable.


Then stop broker, run: mqsichangebroker WMB8V20121101 -b default -r 50000-50020
Started broker again and run simple test-cache JCN like:
...
...
...
MbGlobalMap globalMap = MbGlobalMap.getGlobalMap(CacheName); // this runs OK. In debug mode I see globalMap instanciated with iBackingMap and iRMStatTag=WMB count=3 hashcode=86060 iMapName=TEST iGridName=WMB iconn=com.ibm.broker.cachesupport.MbEmbeddedCacheConnection and more other elements.
...
...
...
globalMap.put(test.Key, test); // this gives error: BIP11110E,4-Jan-2013 11:12:14.000 EST, Failed to connect to cache 'WMB', BIP7166:A connectivity exception occurred while interacting with map <insert_1>. A client attempted operation <insert_2> with map <insert_1> from grid <insert_3>. This attempt failed for the following reason: <insert_4>.

...
...
...




Any ideas what is this "WMB"? Is it a grid, map, or something else? why connection falis?


Test is on XP with broker8.0.0.1. I have other 2brokers of V7. Brokers are connecting to thier dedicated QM on WMQ7.1.0.1

netstats show TCP ports with connection ESTABLISHED.

This is what i see on EG console.txt file:
[1/4/13 11:04:56:666 EST] 00000000 RuntimeInfo I CWOBJ0903I: The internal version of WebSphere eXtreme Scale is v5.0.1 (7.1.1.1) [cf11228.10165302].
[1/4/13 11:04:57:541 EST] 00000001 ObjectGridRAS I CWOBJ2507I: Trace specification is set to *=off=enabled.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
scravr
PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2013 3:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Partisan

Joined: 03 Apr 2003
Posts: 388
Location: NY NY USA 10021

All tests up to this point are done on virtual XP under WIN7.

Same error occurs on independent WIN7 Ultimate box with MQ7.5 & WMB 8.0.0.1!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
jhart
PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2013 12:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 12 Dec 2012
Posts: 19
Location: IBM Hursley, UK

Hello,
In this context, 'WMB' is the name of the embedded grid. The value you passed in to getGlobalMap (CacheName in your code) is the map name.

On the BIP7166, do you have the inserts from this? The underlying WebSphere eXtreme Scale exception is likely summarised in insert_4.
What are the objects you are using in the put() call?

You say that you have four execution groups, using the default policy. As a sanity check, I would suggest checking the syslog again, to make sure that cache components in all 4 EGs have started successfully. There should be a BIP7162 for the catalog, and 4 BIP7163s (one for each container).
Also, again as a sanity check, from a WMB command prompt, try the following command:
mqsicacheadmin WMB8V20121101 -c showPlacement
The main think you are looking for here is that the grid consists of 4 containers - should be obvious from the number of stanzas in the command output.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next Page 1 of 2

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » eXtremeScale on WMB8
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.