ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity

MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups

Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages

RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Process Server (WID/WPS/WAS+) » MDB Listener Internal Behaviour

MDB Listener Internal Behaviour « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
BBM
PostPosted: Mon Feb 15, 2010 7:18 pm    Post subject: MDB Listener Internal Behaviour Reply with quote

Master

Hi,

I am quite new to WPS and have looked around for documentation on the following, but have found scant detail.

I'm trying to understand how the MDB listener actually detects the presence of a message on and MQ queue.

From what I can find it seems that the MDB is performing a GET with WAIT with an unlimited timeout interval.

As I understand it several MDB listeners can be monitoring the same queue using multiple sessions. If this is the case and I am correct in my assumption that the MDB is using a GET with WAIT then who would receive the message first? Would it consumed by the first MDB listener to connect to the queue or is it random?

Any help as always gratefully received.

Thanks

BBM
Vitor
PostPosted: Mon Feb 15, 2010 7:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Random. As I discovered on this forum recently.
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Mon Feb 15, 2010 7:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

My understanding is that with the MDB you have following behavior

1. One monitoring thread that polls the queue and creates a browser
  2. x processing threads
  3. each processing thread gets a message from the browser and does a get by on the message passing it to the onMessage method of the MDB