ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Security » Pb with wildcards and setmqaut

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Pb with wildcards and setmqaut « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
YN_MQ
PostPosted: Thu Apr 15, 2010 10:53 pm    Post subject: Pb with wildcards and setmqaut Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Posts: 3

Hello,

I have a queue named QL.PT.RECV on a QMGR named MUB4.

I try to establish a template for MQ auth on this QMGR and some others.

So i tried the following command to apply rights to all local q on this qm :

Code:
# setmqaut -m MUB4 -t queue -n "QL.**" -g mqgsysadm  +all +setall


I can't access the queue with the mqusysadm user (part of the mqgsysadm group of course...)

Then if i try the following command :

Code:
# setmqaut -m MUB4 -t queue -n QL.PT.RECV -g mqgsysadm  +all +setall


It's working well, i can access the q with mqusysadm ...

Any idea ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zpat
PostPosted: Thu Apr 15, 2010 11:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 19 May 2001
Posts: 5849
Location: UK

Generic profiles do work. What release of WMQ?

Did you refresh security?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Thu Apr 15, 2010 11:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20696
Location: LI,NY

Depending on the environment you want to verify the setmqaut with dspmqaut.
you might also want to consider passing the command like this:
Code:
setmqaut -m MUB4 -t queue -n QL.\*\* -g mqgsysadm  +all +setall


Have fun
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
YN_MQ
PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2010 12:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Posts: 3

I did refresh the security.

I tried the command with the backslash, but without success :

Code:
> setmqaut -m MUB4 -t queue -n QL.\*\* -g mqgsysadm  +all +setall
The setmqaut command completed successfully.


Code:
> echo "refresh security(*)" | runmqsc MUB4
5724-H72 (C) Copyright IBM Corp. 1994, 2005.  ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.
Starting MQSC for queue manager MUB4.


     1 : refresh security(*)
AMQ8560: WebSphere MQ security cache refreshed.
One MQSC command read.
No commands have a syntax error.
All valid MQSC commands were processed.


Code:
> dspmqaut -m MUB4 -t queue -n QL.PT.RECV -g mqgsysadm
Entity mqgsysadm has the following authorizations for object QL.PT.RECV:

> dspmqaut -m MUB4 -t queue -n QL.** -g mqgsysadm
Entity mqgsysadm has the following authorizations for object QL.**:
        get
        browse
        put
        inq
        set
        dlt
        chg
        dsp
        passid
        passall
        setid
        setall
        clr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jlamond
PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2010 7:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 28 May 2002
Posts: 94
Location: Paris

Please help me helping you!

Are you on AS/400?

JM
_________________
Jean-Marc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
PeterPotkay
PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2010 4:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 15 May 2001
Posts: 7716

Use this command (no quotes needed):

Code:

setmqaut -m MUB4 -t queue -n QL.** -g mqgsysadm  +all


I use this type of command all the time. It works. The only time I find I need to wrap the q name in quotes is if the name starts with an *.

No need for +setall if you gave +all.

No need for Refresh Security. The setmqaut command works immediatly. The only time you need Refresh Security is if you change group memberships and you want the QM to refresh its cache, that it built at QM start up, that holds what IDs are in what groups.
_________________
Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2010 5:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 9399
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

Of course +all is pretty much equal to no security.

A suggestion: for each and every setmqaut command, begin with -all for the user/group; then grant with + just the access you really want the user/group to have.
_________________
I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Sat Apr 17, 2010 12:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20696
Location: LI,NY

If you want to look at the security profile for the queue and not at security profiles, don't use dspmqaut, use dmpmqaut. The dump should show that the security from the profile was bestowed onto the queue.....

Have fun
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
YN_MQ
PostPosted: Mon Apr 19, 2010 3:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Posts: 3

Quote:
If you want to look at the security profile for the queue and not at security profiles, don't use dspmqaut, use dmpmqaut. The dump should show that the security from the profile was bestowed onto the queue.....


Thanks for this... I found the pb.

For those interested :

I previously ran the command setmqaut on the queue, to avoid access to the group "mqgsysadm". What i didn't realize is that this authorization stays registered for the object, even if you add a new auth for the object.

When i ran the commd dmpmqaut :

Code:
> dmpmqaut -m MUB4 -n QL.PT.RECV
profile:     QL.PT.RECV
object type: queue
entity:      mqm
entity type: group
authority:   allmqi dlt chg dsp clr
- - - - - - - -
profile:     QL.PT.RECV
object type: queue
entity:      mqgsysadm
entity type: group
authority:   none
- - - - - - - -
profile:     QL.**
object type: queue
entity:      mqgsysadm
entity type: group
authority:   allmqi dlt chg dsp clr


So i had to run the command, coz MQ is taking the most restrictive profile :

Code:
 setmqaut -m MUB4 -remove -t queue -n QL.PT.RECV -g mqgsysadm


Now, dmpmqaut looks like that :


Code:
> dmpmqaut -m MUB4 -n QL.PT.RECV
profile:     QL.PT.RECV
object type: queue
entity:      mqm
entity type: group
authority:   allmqi dlt chg dsp clr
- - - - - - - -
profile:     QL.**
object type: queue
entity:      mqgsysadm
entity type: group
authority:   allmqi dlt chg dsp clr


And i can access the queue mqusysadm...

Thanks everyone, you've been helping me a lot !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Security » Pb with wildcards and setmqaut
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.