|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
|
|
How can I read message form MQ into Buffer? |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
Vamsidhar |
Posted: Mon Sep 17, 2001 6:10 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 16 Sep 2001 Posts: 1 Location: TDS Vamsidhar
|
Hello everybody,
I have a doubt on MQ-series. It is as follow. My queue is defined with Maximum message length of 100 MB. I want to process this message in my cobol program( please note that Cobol can have maximum buffer size of 16MB). Is mq supports that I can read the certain portion of the same message into one variable ( which I can define in my program with < 16MB). So that I can be in a loop to read the whole message till the end of it of ciurse I will overwrite the first read part when I am going to read the second part. As it seem to be reading the full message into one single buffer variable is impossible here in VS Cobol - II. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
RogerLacroix |
Posted: Mon Sep 17, 2001 12:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Jedi Knight
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 3258 Location: London, ON Canada
|
You cannot do that. You must get the whole message in one call. Therefore, for VS COBOL II, you are limited to 16MB messages. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kolban |
Posted: Mon Sep 17, 2001 7:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 22 May 2001 Posts: 1072 Location: Fort Worth, TX, USA
|
If you define the maximum message length of a message on a queue to be 16 MBytes I believe you can specify that the application that puts the messages can segment the messages into 16 MByte chunks. Thus if an application puts a 100 Mbyte message, it will be placed on the queue as 7 messages with each message having an incremening segment and offet number. You can loop through the messages retrieving individually by segment. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
RogerLacroix |
Posted: Mon Sep 17, 2001 8:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Jedi Knight
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 3258 Location: London, ON Canada
|
That only works, if the platform you are doing the gets / puts on supports the MQMD v2 header.
Since, we are talking about VS COBOL II (on MVS), I know that MQ v2.1 for OS/390 and earlier versions did not support MQMD v2 header.
Has anyone checked MQ v5.2 for OS/390 to see if it supports MQMD v2 header? (I don't think it is available).
later
Roger...
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
|
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|